I am genuinely not sure where to post this but I thought this the most appropriate. I am currently updating a lot of my old tips, checking 'phone numbers, adding new websites etc. Whilst sorting out a VT tip for a place called the Ouzeria Skala in Larnaca, Cyprus I had googled it and was amazed to find the first line of my tip staring me in the face from a site called Leakdeals. Here is a link. en.leakdeals.com/articles/vt... I checked it and it was indeed my tip complete with typos and even crediting the author as "planxty" but with no reference to VT whatsoever. Does VT have any links with Leakdeals and if not do they know that Leakdeals are lifting their copy? Somewhat oddly, I had entitled the tip "New kid on the block" and the tip appeared in the middle of a discussion page about the pop group of that name. I'm a bit confused now, can anyone help?
I had a look...very interesting. I remember ViajesDelMundo had some of her reviews inserted in a local area website and I do not think much could be done about that. Be an idea to contact VT direct in case they do not see your post Fergy and get an opinion 'straight from the horse's mouth'.
Be the first to rate this answer!
Reading their "Privacy Policy" is a joke when they have stolen the information to build their website!!
Be the first to rate this answer!
This has come up before and If I remember rightly, it's illegal. Contact feedback and let them know
Be the first to rate this answer!
Hi Fergy. Yes I reckon VT should have a look at this leakdeals.com Just out of interest I had a look at the leakdeals travel guide for Larnaca and all the transportation tips on it have been lifted directly from VT members pages. So that begs the question - What else have they lifted from our pages?
Be the first to rate this answer!
Lots of other tips I'd say !!
Be the first to rate this answer!
Totally agree - Please let VT know about this and get the practice stopped
Be the first to rate this answer!
It's riddled with VT stuff!! mine included!! What a cheek.
Be the first to rate this answer!
What's the address (you'd think I would know by now)? Is it feedback@VTmail.com ?
Be the first to rate this answer!
feedback@virtualtourist.com
Be the first to rate this answer!
Thanks.
Be the first to rate this answer!
All done, let's see what happens.
Be the first to rate this answer!
Huh!! Even their tip categories are exactly the same at VT's!! How lazy and illegal.
Be the first to rate this answer!
Hmmmm "LeakDeals was started by clever folks who were exploring how to utilize algorithm to retrieve volume structured information from web or real person, and classify it; as well as how machine learning could be used give accurate, expertise-driven, highly-customized results." Read; stealing other people's content and not attributing it!
Be the first to rate this answer!
I didn’t find anything refer to “property rights“ :( the web site from china , 15F, Building A, Insigma Software Park, 18 Xiyuan 1 Road, Sandun, West Lake District Hangzhou 310030, P.R.China Email: feedback@leakdeals.com
Be the first to rate this answer!
They do attribute to the membernames, but not VT. Does seem lazy and just plain copying. But hilarious to then go on to have a Privacy policy!
Be the first to rate this answer!
this case isn't a "Privacy policy"
Be the first to rate this answer!
VT can do more restrictions on the web site. And also on the pages of top writers by deny anyone member/nonmember from highlight & copy the texts ,,, it’s costly but applicable
Be the first to rate this answer!
I'm sure VT could "shut them down". My reference was the irony of their own "Privacy Policy".
Be the first to rate this answer!
That's an interestng point kiwi, and one I have often wondered about. As most regular members here know, I am completely useless with technology and I really do not understand. VT are based in America, this apparently rogue site is in China. You state, "I'm sure VT could "shut them down" but can they? Whose jurisdiction is applicable? Are there even laws about such things? If there are laws, which countries are signed up to them and how many actually enforce them? I really don't know but I thought this was a big problem with the internet regarding child pornography, extremist political views and all sorts of other things. Who actually exercises control over the net, if anyone? I hereby apologise to myself for hijacking my own thread and more seriously to the poor techs who will probably have to wade through all of it.
Be the first to rate this answer!
I didn't really mean it quite literally. but I am sure there is something VT can do. These issues have come up before as was already mentioned. Lets see what they say.
Be the first to rate this answer!
Sorry Kiwi, as I say I am useless about this. I thought there was maybe something they could do legally to close them down.
Be the first to rate this answer!
Interesting! So far I can't find anything of mine there (not that I am too bothered). As it is a Chinese site I doubt if much can be done - the country does seem to have a huge industry around producing copies of copyrighted goods of all descriptions.
Be the first to rate this answer!
Within a few minutes I found that I am there with you Fergy together with nyoung01 Greek Cypriot Pavlik_NL spincat christine-j mobius and many,many more members. In fact this is beginning to look like the list for the Meet to end all other VT Meets! I hope we will hear something from Mr G. about it soon.
Be the first to rate this answer!
OMG - I'm all on that site too as are threads/reviews from other members who just mentioned my VT name in their posts. en.leakdeals.com/content?q=g... Shut 'em down! Off to report....
Be the first to rate this answer!
It's theft and it's illegal, but it's also in China which means that there is very little we can do. These sites will be shut down but it takes a while...
Be the first to rate this answer!
Yeah, figgered that. No biggie, I guess - just annoying.
Be the first to rate this answer!
I just made a search at LeakDeals for MalenaN and six tips written by different VT-members came up, where my name is mentioned. Looks like they have stolen lots of (probably all) their material from VT and other websites.
Be the first to rate this answer!
I've written to complain, but of course the feedback@leakdeals.com is just a fake empty email. China's intellectual property policy is a disgrace.
Be the first to rate this answer!
Shut 'em down will not solve the problem they can recover the site within minutes in the worst case hours Some level of security required on VT site why the “Anonymous ” can go through any page on VT site ? the activities of any member is readably for what ,,,!!
Be the first to rate this answer!
Even crawlers can scrape membership sites. That has NOTHING to do with it. VT pages are meant to be shared and be available to fellow travelers they are not private messaging and email pages. That won't change.
Be the first to rate this answer!