Hello all, there is a FB page whose owners/admins posts beautiful pictures like from a conveyor belt. Beautiful pictures. Most of the time with a quote. In most of the cases there is no reference to the photographer given. They could well be stock photos. But.... somehow ... I have a strange feeling. That's the site: facebook.com/TheMost.Beautif... What do you think - are they posting the photos "legally"? Ingrid
It looks to me as if they are sharing other people's photos.
I am not sure, Diane. Although I am completely new to this FB thing, sharing photos looks different to me than what they mostly do. But I might be wrong, because I haven't understood the whole thing properly.
Ingrid if you read just above a photo it says something to the effect the "...shared so and so's photo". I have seen some of my photos on other people's pages.
I stopped at: To connect with The Most Beautiful Things In The World, sign up for Facebook today. PJ
I would say no, not legally posted per copyright law. I saw immediately the photo of the Afghan girl with the startling green eyes who graced the cover of National Geographic years ago: ngm.nationalgeographic.com/2... That image was one of NG's most memorable covers and not one I'd guess either the photographer or the publication would easily have given up for a FB page. But I am just guessing.
Diane: yes, that is what I thought. When people share others' photos it says "xxx has shared yyy's photo" and "yyy" is linked with the name of the photo owner. They do share other people or pages' photos, but many cases I miss it on their page. Especially in their albums. There they mark (or tag) a lot of people. But to mark/tag and photo owner is something different. PJ: why did you disconnect? Too many images?
I saw the pictures, but I'm not into FB at all. PJ
Yes, as soon as I saw the Afghan girl I too thought 'some (a lot?) of this stuff is simply lifted from elsewhere'. Whether it is legal or not will depend on where 'they' are lifting them from (maybe from other FB pages?). If you're interested, you can sometimes use http://www.tineye.com/ to find out.
I did that, @leics, because I was curious. Found some on some stock sites and some were not in the sources, tineye searches. But this photo on what I think is a partner site of the one I mentioned above: facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=... is for example on this site: anicholson1993.wordpress.com... and the name Jessy Eykendorp is mentioned below. She is a professional photographer: flickr.com/photos/tropicaliv... But here name is no where mentioned on that FB page.... NG's Afghan girl was published on that site? I am almost 100% sure that NG will not allow this without hefty fees for publishing! Ingrid
Ingrid, click on the blue 'Photos' tab - just under the photo next to the image of the upturned thumb. That brings up more images; you will see the photo I referenced in that grouping.
Yes, I just found it! And what is even more strange... someone shared it with this "group page"!! He has it as main photo: facebook.com/carsten.winters... The photographer, by the way, is Steve McCurry: http://stevemccurry.com/ Ingrid
I would say all of the photos that he has are "borrowed".
I wrote to NG and sent the links. Let's see if they answer and what they say. And yes, Diane, I also believe that he "borrowed" them. But without asking.
That photo(the Afghan girl) is by Steve McCurry. Would he still hold copyright I wonder or is copyright now National Geographic's? I think you can pretty much upload anything to a photo gallery as long as you attribute it. Althpough the rate at which photos are lifted from Flickr to Tumblr, without a by-your-leave, would seem to disprove that theory.
Just noticed you'd already mentioned the Steve McCurry link , Ingrid. I saw his exhibition in Dublin last year, including that photo. It was amazing.
I wrote to both, NG and Steve McCurry. Let's see if I get an answer and what they tell. Katherine: I envy you! I wish he'd also exhibit near my place. His photos are breathtaking!!
The answers will be interesting Ingrid.