Become a Virtual Tourist Member Today!  Sign Up for Free | Sign In

Kauai Travel Forum

Search:
Email to Friend | help
Kauai
Click to get the inside scoop from
real travelers here at VirtualTourist.

VirtualTourist Forums

   
Travel Forums
Get Kauai travel and vacation advice from over 1,000,000 VirtualTourist members. Post a Kauai travel question and get unbiased, timely answers and insights from real travelers and Kauai locals.

Back to Kauai Forum

Forum Question Posted By: Replies:
Kauai Does it still exist?
Posted: Mon May 28, 2007 03:23 AM UTC
Have read many things about Kauai ultralight flights, but the website no longer is available and have not been able to find any other information on them. Is Birds in Paradise the only ultralight company available now?
IaGhost
Click Picture to enlarge.
8 replies

[Reply]

Kauai Re: Does it still exist?
Posted: Sat June 2, 2007 05:11 AM UTC
It seems that they had a name change awhile back that I was unaware of. It is now called Aero Trek Hawai‘i. Website is www.ultralightkauai.com (old site was www.kauaiultralight.com). Phone number is still the same (808-645-6444)

I spoke to Robert Combs yesterday; he is one of the pilots who I flew with. He said the web hosting company they used went belly-up and they lost everything – even their domain name. But they are very much still in business.

Was this reply helpful?yes no 

BlueCollar
Click Picture to enlarge.
[Reply]
Kauai Re: Does it still exist?
Posted: Thu June 14, 2007 01:20 PM UTC
Thank you Bluecollar, I thought if anyone had info on this it would be you. Your travel tips have really helped us put our Kauai trip together. Thanks again.

Was this reply helpful?yes no 

IaGhost
Click Picture to enlarge.
[Reply]
Kauai Re: Does it still exist?
Posted: Thu June 14, 2007 10:41 PM UTC
Hey, I'm happy to help where I can.

If you're interested, I just uploaded a video of our hikes on the Kalalau Trail to my YouTube page (http://www.youtube.com/BlueCollarTraveler).

Was this reply helpful?yes no 

BlueCollar
Click Picture to enlarge.
[Reply]
Kauai Re: Does it still exist?
Posted: Tue July 3, 2007 01:03 AM UTC
fly mark.

Blue collar, is there a weight restriction with that company when you did it? I know when I did the hanggliding and skydiving I just squeezed in the restriction weight. Thanks again for your indepth info on this spefic delight.

Was this reply helpful?yes no 

kzapanta
Click Picture to enlarge.
[Reply]
Kauai Re: Does it still exist?
Posted: Sat July 7, 2007 02:12 AM UTC
Weight restriction? I'm not sure. I weigh 200 lbs (90.7 kilograms) and it was no problem with the above operator. I do know that many of these birds allow approximately 450 lbs (204 kilogram) of total passenger weight. So this makes your total allowed weight dependent on the pilot's weight. :)

Send Aerotrek an email and find out: flyboyskauai@yahoo.com

Was this reply helpful?yes no 

BlueCollar
Click Picture to enlarge.
[Reply]
Kauai Re: Does it still exist?
Posted: Sat July 7, 2007 08:22 AM UTC
Thanks Blue. And again, great info you have written!

Was this reply helpful?yes no 

kzapanta
Click Picture to enlarge.
[Reply]
Kauai Re: Does it still exist?
Posted: Thu August 23, 2007 08:11 AM UTC
Birds In Paradise is still very much in existence!! We fly 2 trikes so couples can fly together. We are the only powered hang gliding comapany in the "Ultimate Kauai Guidebook" by Adrew Doughty!!! 100% safety record, with over 15,000 customers, check out the website, birdsinparadise.com.

Was this reply helpful?yes no 

mds911nurse
[Reply]
Kauai Re: Does it still exist?
Posted: Fri October 26, 2007 10:09 AM UTC
we come to Kauai every year, for the past 4 years we have called Ultralight Adventure to make a reservation to fly two ultralights as they advertise. Each time they come up with a different excuse as to why they are flying only one aircraft.We went on a boat ride and the captain told us that they have never flown 2 trikes ever and that it is a scam to get people to call them. we flew with Birds in Paradise and they do run 2 trikes, We were advised by more than one local to stay away from Ultralight Adventures or Aero Trek Hawaii or what ever they call themselves this month.

Was this reply helpful?yes no 

drysanna
[Reply]
Pages: 1

Find:        Matching:  Advanced
About VirtualTourist |  10 Great Things to Do On VirtualTourist |  Contact Us |  Advertising on VirtualTourist |  Press Center |  Help |  Travel Tools |  VT Gear |  VT Chat |  Local Merchant Login |  Search, Compare, Book Travel - OneTime.com | User Agreement |  Privacy Statement
Virtual Tourist® ©1994-2008 VirtualTourist.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.