Waterford Travel Answers

change location
Ronandnancypope's Profile Photo

Waterford Factory - NEW opening June 1, 2010

by Ronandnancypope Online Now Jun 1, 2010 at 10:40 AM

We are arriving on the Queen Victoria Cruise in Cobn, Ireland on July 24th, 2010 and wish to take the Water Factory Tour in Waterford.
QUESTION:
Since the ship does not have a scheduled tour - How do we get from the Ship to Waterford City to be able to take the Waterford Factory Tour? Is it possible to arrange transportation through an agency such as Virtual Tourist ?

Ronald Pope - seabeepope@yahoo.com
Plano, Texas USA

Quote & Answer
9 Answers
  • Odinnthor's Profile Photo

Re: Waterford Factory - NEW opening June 1, 2010

by Odinnthor Online Now Jun 1, 2010 at 6:37 PM

The above response is correct.

Although I have done tours in the area before, I have not done one fron Cobh, but having worked both cruises and tours, - I looked. I have no personal knowledge of this tour operator, but they appear to be used by most all the cruise ships that dock in Cobh. Scroll down to the private tours, and you will se that they can arrange for a tour to Waterford. Contact them and explain what you want and how many people.

http://www.lynotttours.com/b-ishore.htm

Also consider this. If it turns out to be too expensive to arrange a private tour, talk to the Cruise Director about what you would like to do there, and ask him to spread the word. When I was a CD, I would have a message board with such requests. Also talk to your fellow passengers and see if you can recruit a few to share the cost of a private tour. I used to pair up some passengers for just such a thing.

I note that the Blarney/Kinsale tour tends to sell out. You can suggest to those that want to do Blarney and Kinsale, that your private tour will do those as well, just add Waterford.

If you follow this, you should be able to have your cake (tour) and eat it too...good luck.....d:o)

Be the first to rate this answer!