United States of America Travel Answers

change location
Laura94cm's Profile Photo

Travelling for work and living in miami for 3-4 months

by Laura94cm Online Now Feb 28, 2013 at 1:22 PM

Hello, I am from London, UK.
I am an 18 year old student until July, and I am planning to move out to Miami, florida around JAN 2014 time for a few months to do some work and expierence the american life.

I'm just wondering who else is thinking of going around this time looking to do the same thing? it would be nice to get an idea of who I will be with..

Also, anybody that has been travelling, could you tell me which hostles are the cheapest/bes value for money to stay in?

Thanks, laura!

Quote & Answer
2 Answers
  • PR-7's Profile Photo

Re: Travelling for work and living in miami for 3-4 months

by PR-7 Online Now Feb 28, 2013 at 2:48 PM

I'm not sure what your plan is, Laura, but I'm going to ensure you have the info that you need. If you already have this info, all the better.

> I am planning to move out to Miami ... for a few months to do some work

First of all, as a U.K. citizen you are pretty much forbidden to do ANY work for pay while here. Unless a U.S. employer has certified that no American citizen is capable of doing the job you intend to do, and does so BEFORE you arrive, all of your work will be illegal. Which means, if you are caught, you'll have a REAL problem EVER coming back. Also, if you are mistreated or or abused or under-paid by whoever you intend to work for, you'll have no recourse but to accept it.

If you intend to stay for more than 90 days, you'll need a visa. To get a visa, you'll have to PROVE (and the burden is on YOU) that you'll be able to support yourself for the entire time you are here. If you even hint that you'll be working while here, your visa application will be rejected.