Tucson Travel Answers

change location
marlasimone4's Profile Photo

Neighborhoods in Tucson

by marlasimone4 Online Now Sep 7, 2008 at 2:46 AM

Hi, I've been living (on and off) in Tucson for the past two years and I still can't find a reasonable area to rent a house/apartment in. I'm a full-time grad student and work part-time and currently live in an 1 bed-room apartment in the central NW. I want to be very close to the University and would prefer to upgrade to 2 bedroom house or guest house near the University and in a safe area, but everything seems outrageously priced. For those long term residents, I'd appreciate any advice. Ideally, I'd love a large guest house in the Sam Hughes area, but they seem impossible to find (oh, and I want to live alone). If you have recommendations for other areas that are safe and close to the U, I'd appreciate the insight. Also, if you know of anyone renting a reasonable guesthouse or house that sounds right please let me know or pass the word. Thanks!!

Marla

Quote & Answer
2 Answers
  • bocmaxima's Profile Photo

Re: Neighborhoods in Tucson

by bocmaxima Online Now Sep 7, 2008 at 4:24 PM

Every individual renting in Tucson wants a large guesthouse in Sam Hughes. They exist, but the likelihood of finding one is almost nil. I found one for rent once but it was going for, IIRC,750.
    You may want to look into Feldman's, which is on the northwest side of Speedway and Euclid. A lot of grad students live in this area, but don't go too far north or west as it gets sketchy. Blenman-Elm is also good, but typically overpriced and short on decent rentals. There's also a good area south of Speedway and east of Campbell with some rentals, but also a lot of undergrads around there.