Sydney Travel Answers

change location

visa help?

by chelseauk7 Online Now Feb 25, 2013 at 12:35 AM

Im looking to go to Australia in September on my own, I was going to organise through a gap year programme but seems too much money this way, but now I wont get help with my visa, was wondering do i need the £3000 ($5000) backing money before i apply for my visa? Sorry just new to this any advice and tips will help. Thanks!

Quote & Answer
7 Answers
  • davidjo's Profile Photo

Re: visa help?

by davidjo Online Now Feb 25, 2013 at 2:26 AM

Better you ask the embassy, not us.

Be the first to rate this answer!

Was this helpful? Quote & Answer
  • Gembly's Profile Photo

by Gembly Online Now Feb 28, 2013 at 8:13 AM

If you have an STA Travel shop near you, I suggest you do it through them. I am new to the whole travelling thing too, and they were so helpful - they completely put my mind at rest.
    Just been granted my visa (which I did through STA), and I was told that the $5000 they suggest you have doesn't have to be cold hard cash. It can be a credit card or even just an account you have access to. (Having said that, you will need actual money. Don't think you can just rely on someone else or max out your credit card.)

Seriously, go to STA Travel - they'll give you sound advice!
    Good luck x

• Gembly's Profile Photo

by Gembly Online Now Feb 28, 2013 at 8:16 AM

ps: I have zero dollars in the bank and I've just been granted my visa, so don't worry about that right now. Plus the visa (I'm guessing it's a working holiday one??) is valid for 12 months, and your 12 month time limit only activates when you arrive in Australia, so if you do it now, you have until Feb2014 to get to Oz, then your visa kicks in. x

• Re: visa help?

by lydiaroseg Online Now Apr 7, 2013 at 4:31 PM