South Iceland Travel Answers

change location

Glacier hiking in January?

by hajokoch Online Now Sep 1, 2005 at 11:45 AM

I'm completely new to VT - so excuse any mistake, please.

We had our first >2 weeks round trip around Iceland in June - it was absolutely great! Now we plan to be in Reykjavik on the 31.12. to 01.01. and adding a trip to the southern area by car - waterfalls and further to Vik. Does anyone know a link to some company that offers guided glacier tours locally (not by bus from Reykjavik) around the Solheimajökull or any other glacier nearby? I couldn't find anything with Google.

Thank you very much.
Hajo (near Frankfurt/Main-Germany)

Quote & Answer
4 Answers
  • Ritchie_Lionheart's Profile Photo

RE: RE: Glacier hiking in January?

by Ritchie_Lionheart Online Now Sep 1, 2005 at 2:04 PM

But Hajo, are you aware that days in this hemisphere are very short in January?
    Sunrise on January 1 is 11:19 am, sunset is 03:48 pm. True, the daylight is a good 2 hrs longer at the end of January.

Be the first to rate this answer!

Was this helpful? Quote & Answer
  • erensm's Profile Photo

RE: Glacier hiking in January?

by erensm Online Now Sep 1, 2005 at 2:37 PM

Try this one : http://snow.is/

• xuessium's Profile Photo

RE: Glacier hiking in January?

by xuessium Online Now Sep 2, 2005 at 3:46 AM

I don't know if this link might be useful for your quest: randburg.com/is/tourism/glac...

I was at Solheimajokull and I noticed that there was a sign advertising guided tours onto the glacier at specific times. The problem is - there are no shacks or stations at the entrance of the park so I am a little puzzled where you can actually register for a guided tour. (There was a group of people looking for the guide to no avail) My guide for the day (day trip from REK) mentioned she used to do this before she switched companies - unfortunately, I did not get the name of her previous employer.

Happy hunting!

• RE: RE: Glacier hiking in January?