Santa Margherita Ligure Travel Answers

change location
carrieb12's Profile Photo

Traveling with 12 year old

by carrieb12 Online Now Nov 26, 2011 at 12:47 PM

Hello All,
I am so excited about our trip in June 2012. I am drawn to Santa Margherita, but I am not sure that this is the place to stay. We plan on staying in a central location for 6 nights and explore the surrounding areas. I want to be in a place that in the evenings we can explore the city by walking around a piazza, talking with locals, and eating yummy gelato. My daughter is 12 years old and I want her to remember this trip forever, so please advise if Santa Margherita is the place to be for us. Also, I am a teacher so we are on a budget!!!
Thanks you for any help you can provide.

Quote & Answer
6 Answers
  • nicolaitan's Profile Photo

Re: Traveling with 12 year old

by nicolaitan Online Now Nov 26, 2011 at 1:07 PM

sml is a great village, we have returned four times over they years. popular beach, lots of hotels of varying cost, relatively reasonable pricing, young crowd on the central park in the eveings.

Be the first to rate this answer!

Was this helpful? Quote & Answer
  • cgf's Profile Photo

by cgf Online Now Nov 26, 2011 at 1:11 PM

Santa Margherita is not 'budget', in order to save money I suggest Rapallo which is very close and cheaper. From Rapallo there is a bus running to Santa Margherita ending at Portofino so no problem going there to have a walk.
    No problem also about ice-cream, actually in Rapallo they could cost less or bigger for same proce, same good quality.

• craic's Profile Photo

by craic Online Now Nov 26, 2011 at 3:48 PM

there is a train running to from rapallo to s.margharita - i seem to remember from staying in rapallo not much going on at night - maybe we never find the right place - i haven't actually stayed in S.margharita but it is much bigger so of course more going on