Saint Pierre and Miquelon Travel Answers

change location

I'm moving to St. Pierre to study...

by NicolasCroucher Online Now Nov 6, 2011 at 10:05 AM

I'm a student at Memorial University of Newfoundland and I recently have been accepted in the Frecker Program. I am incredibly excited about living in St. Pierre for 4 months, however my question is if it is possible to bring my car for that period of time. I know the community and island itself is pretty small but it would be nice to have a mode of transportation and the car is very easy on gas usage. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

Quote & Answer
3 Answers
  • Flying.Scotsman's Profile Photo

Re: I'm moving to St. Pierre to study...

by Flying.Scotsman Online Now Nov 6, 2011 at 3:57 PM

My first reaction was how much driving can you do on St Pierre. After looking at Google maps, I would think, "not a lot". The town appears to be about 1 km across and the farthest distance you can drive on the island is about 6 to 7 km. The airport is only 2 km from the town. I would have thought there would be a better solution to transport and hopefully someone with recent knowledge of the island will be able to help you. Post some photos and comments on Virtual Tourist, as it's a place that has always fascinated me. Maybe some day I'll get a chance to see it. Enjoy your time there. Bruce

Be the first to rate this answer!

Was this helpful? Quote & Answer
  • Re: I'm moving to St. Pierre to study...

by NicolasCroucher Online Now Jan 19, 2012 at 7:33 AM

Well I am currently here and while everything is relatively close together, there are a lot of hills hah...I'll survive :P...It's really windy and cold here too but I'm used to that anyway being from the Southwest coast of Newfoundland.

• Re: I'm moving to St. Pierre to study...

by travelerwanderer Online Now Feb 7, 2014 at 9:07 PM

Hello,