Ribeauvillé Travel Answers

change location

Getes in area?

by nikkisportraits Online Now Jul 13, 2011 at 1:33 PM

Hello,

I am a Canadian visual artist. During one of my recent classes that I teach, some interest has grown in a painting excursion to France. Rbeauville was suggested. I was wondering if anyone could suggest a good gete in the area, where a group of 12 artists could stay, cook and paint?

Thanks for your suggestions.

www.nikkisportraits.com

Quote & Answer
7 Answers
  • Jeannette1's Profile Photo

Re: Getes in area?

by Jeannette1 Online Now Jul 13, 2011 at 1:43 PM

C'est quoi "gete" ?
    J.

Be the first to rate this answer!

Was this helpful? Quote & Answer
  • Re: Getes in area?

by nikkisportraits Online Now Jul 13, 2011 at 1:53 PM

Oh Pardon, I think I misspelled this word. Jete: is a place to rent. It might be a renovated barn or extra building on someone's property. There is usually a kitchenette area and several bedrooms for a group.

Nikki

• Jeannette1's Profile Photo

by Jeannette1 Online Now Jul 13, 2011 at 2:15 PM

do you mean "Gîte"?

Here are some gîtes in Ribeauvillé. It's a beautiful little town.
    http://www.gites-ribeauville.com/

• Beausoleil's Profile Photo

by Beausoleil Online Now Jul 13, 2011 at 3:33 PM

Hi. Beautiful area. You'll love it. We often use the Gites-de-France. They have recently redone their English-version of the site. http://en.gites-de-france.com/

If you limit your search to Alsace, Haut Rhin #68 (the region number), you will find all sorts of beautiful places. We usually stay in Barr but Ribeauville is probably more picturesque. Eguisheim is incredibly picturesque and there are many lovely wine villages that are very pretty. Use Google maps to find towns in your area and then do street views to see if they are paintable. Villages that come to mind are Riquewihr, Eguisheim, Bergheim, Obernai is spectacular, Turkheim . . . and the list goes on. Alsace is a great place for painters!