Raleigh Travel Answers

change location
swahili4courage's Profile Photo

Hoping to Relocate to Raleigh in One Year

by swahili4courage Online Now May 22, 2005 at 8:26 AM

My wife & I are in our mid 30s and have 2 small kids, ages 5 and 3. We have lived in the DC region (Northern Virginia suburbs) since the mid-1990s and are in need of a change. We just feel the DC surrounding region has become so overcrowded and so overpriced we just need to move away. We made a trip to the Raleigh region in summer 2004 and really liked what we saw. We want to relocate to the Raleigh area.

Ideally, we would line up a job in the Raleigh region before we left the DC region, but have found that employers are reluctant to interview people from out of state. There seems to be an influx of "transplants" from the northeast and western states to the Raleigh area. We've really had it with the traffic, overpriced housing, etc of the DC surrounding region. I've been doing IT support for the last 11 years (Windows sys admin, desktop, application support) and my wife is a medical records technician. Hope to move and be in place in the Raleigh area by summer 2006. What types of things should we be doing now in preparation for this goal? Can any of you fellow "transplants" recommend some companies or give advice here? Did your company pay for your relocation to Raleigh area or did you have to fund it yourself? Any advice/info is most appreciative.

Quote & Answer
5 Answers
  • elsensei's Profile Photo

RE: Hoping to Relocate to Raleigh in One Year

by elsensei Online Now Jun 26, 2005 at 7:56 PM

I didn't move to Raleigh, but did something similar in that I moved from California to Atlanta as I was tired of the high costs of housing in CA.