Miyajima Travel Answers

change location

Sightseeing areas of interest and good accommodation.

by Yathushan.Sivarajah Online Now Mar 11, 2010 at 1:56 PM

Hi, I was just wondering if anyone could help me out on finding some very interesting sight places to see here? Also, can someone suggest some cheap decent hostel accommodation as I am only a student??

Quote & Answer
5 Answers
  • GrumpyDiver's Profile Photo

Re: Sightseeing areas of interest and good accommodation.

by GrumpyDiver Online Now Mar 11, 2010 at 2:47 PM

1. The island proper;
    2. Itsukushima Shrine (UNESCO World Heritage Site)
    3. O-torii the famous water gate at the shrine.

O-torii is illuminated at night. You can walk out towards it when the tide is out.

Accomodation is a bit limited on the island itself, as day-trippers from Hiroshima come for the day. I can't remember the name of the place we stayed, but it was not "cheap",so I can't help you.

Be the first to rate this answer!

Was this helpful? Quote & Answer
  • muratkorman's Profile Photo

by muratkorman Online Now Mar 11, 2010 at 3:46 PM

Grumpydiver sums it up, but there are also walking trails on the island and some other temples and shrines. We stayed in Hiroshima and visited Miyajima on a daily trip. I suggest you also consider Hiroshima. Everybody should visit Peace Park and Memorial Museum there. If you check my Hiroshima page you can find a tip about Miyajima too.

• xymmot's Profile Photo

by xymmot Online Now Mar 11, 2010 at 7:07 PM

Sounds like you are putting together quite a long trip through out the far east. I have been reading your forum questions and I hope that you wrote them (all the tips) all down. How many days are you planning this trip and where is the start and finish line. May be we can help with direction. Anything in particular you want to see. Have you consider China also? Lots of history there.

• Re: Sightseeing areas of interest and good accommodation.