Maldives Travel Answers

change location

Painting in the Maldives??

by Samounou Online Now Dec 23, 2011 at 1:17 AM

Hello every one,
I am planing to go to the Maldives (Male Island I think) and would like to paint the beautiful landscape there. As a french painter, I cannot bring my materials with me in the plane, so I would like to by blank canvas, easel and pencils on the Island.
Does anyone of you know if I can find a store or something like that on the Island? I have no idea, it would be my first time in the Maldives... :)
Thank you so much for your help!!
Cheers,
Samuel

Quote & Answer
4 Answers
  • cgf's Profile Photo

Re: Painting in the Maldives??

by cgf Online Now Dec 23, 2011 at 2:23 AM

I believe you'd better take everything you need with you.

Be the first to rate this answer!

Was this helpful? Quote & Answer
  • tayloretc's Profile Photo

by tayloretc Online Now Dec 23, 2011 at 3:52 AM

I'm not sure why you couldn't bring canvas, easel, and pencils on the plane (probably checked) - paints in tubes might be a problem. You'd want to check with the airline.

One of the advantages to going to a place as expensive and regulated as Maldives is that hotels will often be able to handle offbeat requests. So once you decide on a hotel, check whether they can arrange what you're looking for. If not, perhaps you could do your sketches in a simpler medium, and paint when you return?

• Odinnthor's Profile Photo

by Odinnthor Online Now Dec 23, 2011 at 3:13 PM

Taylor is right, - not sure why you cannot take an artist bag, that fits canvases and an easel with some supplies, and check the bag with the airline. Like this one, which is allowed to check as luggage.

aswexpress.com/discount-art-...

I list this just as an example. There are also convenient easel bags and I have seen one of these flat bags for canvas and easel, that can be checked as luggage.....and they are French too.....d:o)

aswexpress.com/discount-art-...