Kingston upon Hull Travel Answers

change location

Moving to Hull and looking for advice

by Christinaoreo Online Now Jun 9, 2005 at 2:26 AM

Hello, I am an American student who will be moving to Hull this Sept. to attend the University of Hull. I was wondering if Hull has a decent supply of part time jobs or are they difficult to find?
I also would like people's opinions on where is the safest, best place to live that is near the University. I have never been to Hull and must make arrangements before I leave. I really just don't want to commit myself to some ghetto!
I appreciate your thought and opinions.

Quote & Answer
11 Answers
  • zuriga's Profile Photo

RE: Moving to Hull and looking for advice

by zuriga Online Now Jun 9, 2005 at 5:45 AM

Believe it or not, the UK has no ghettos. I'm sorry I can't help you with Hull.. have never been there but the uni housing people should be able to help you out a bit.

Be the first to rate this answer!

Was this helpful? Quote & Answer
  • RE: RE: Moving to Hull and looking for advice

by mels1962 Online Now Jun 9, 2005 at 5:49 AM

The UK has no ghettos?

You ever been to the Falls Road?

• zuriga's Profile Photo

RE: RE: Moving to Hull and looking for advice

by zuriga Online Now Jun 9, 2005 at 6:31 AM

I was kidding. But you've never seen ghettos unless you've seen some in the U.S. Now those are truly ghettos.

by mels1962 Online Now Jun 9, 2005 at 6:54 AM

Ghetto means iron foundry in Italian

Not a lot people know that

• zuriga's Profile Photo

by zuriga Online Now Jun 9, 2005 at 8:06 AM

Yes, you're very right that a lot and maybe most people don't know the derivation of the word. I have a photo of the original.. in Venice.. on my travelpage. I just found this which is interesting..