Japan Travel Answers

change location

Honeymoon in July

by BeagleLover Online Now Feb 2, 2013 at 2:30 PM

I am trying to plan our honeymoon for July, we get married on July 11th in Ireland and hope to travel to Japan on the 14th. I understand that we are probably arriving during the tail end of the rainy season so I would love to possible start further south as to increase my chances of drier weather and then make my way up north.
We are only spending ten days in Japan as we will be stopping off in Dubai on our way home for 5 nights. I am a Geography teacher and have always wanted to go to Japan as it has been a topic of study in terms of volcanic activity, earthquakes, tsunami's, economic development, coral reefs so I would really love to try and visit as many different aspects to Japan as possible without putting to much pressure on myself on my honeymoon.
So I would really cherish some advice, is it possible to have a mt fuji/city/beach experience in japan in 10 days?
Ideas and suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
love from Ireland

Quote & Answer
7 Answers
  • GrumpyDiver's Profile Photo

Re: Honeymoon in July

by GrumpyDiver Online Now Feb 2, 2013 at 3:01 PM

Having been to Japna at the time of year you are going; it is not necessarily going to rain every day. It will be very hot and humid. If you can get to Kyoto, it the Gion Matsuri festival (the parade is on July 16), I would highly recommend you try to get there for it.

I shot some video (in the rain) during the festival (eating at street stalls on July 15 and watching the parade on July 16):

"Gion Festival" - Kyoto Video by GrumpyDiver

Mount Fuji was totally cloud covered when we were in the area, so we never saw it. Trying to climb it in the rain, does not sound like a lot of fun to me.

Cities - yes lots of time to see those. Tokyo and Kyoto would be at the top of my list of places to visit, especially as you only have 10 days.