Indonesia Travel Answers

change location
AlbaV's Profile Photo

Where to go for a clinical exchange??

by AlbaV Online Now Mar 23, 2013 at 5:21 PM

Hi! I'm a medicine student and I'm going to be at Indonesia for one month in the summer, I have many options to choose and I don't know wich place will be better for me. I'm a spanish young girl who likes to discover other cultures, prefers big cities (but I think Jakarta is maybe too big and chaotic), do shopping, make friends, visit interesting things, art, love photography...

My cities are:
Banda Aceh, Universitas Syiah Kuala
Bandung, Universitas Padjadjaran
Jakarta, Universitas Indonesia
Malang, Universitas Brawijaya
Padang, Unversitas Andalas
Riau, Universitas Riau
Semarang, Universitas Islam Sultan Agung
Surabaya, Universitas Airlangga
Surakarta, Universitas Sebelas Maret
Tangerang, Universitas Pelita Harapan
Universitas Islam Negeri Syarif Hidayatullah
Yogyakarta, Universitas Gadjah Mada
Yogyakarta, Universitas Muhammadiyah Yogyakarta

Thank you very much for your attention!

Quote & Answer
7 Answers
  • theo1006's Profile Photo

Re: Where to go for a clinical exchange??

by theo1006 Online Now Mar 23, 2013 at 5:48 PM

Hello Alba,
    I am not sure what your intention is with "clinical exchange", as you will be coming on a tourist visa. People here are easy-going and you will find it easy to make acquaintance with students and some staff on campus; and have an informal peek around. But for any serious acadamic activities you would need to come on a cultural visa. Perhaps on a first visit you can find a host willing to invite you for a cultural visit.
    Having said that, I think your best choice is Yogyakarta. This is a cultural centre where people are accustomed to communicate with all kinds of foreign visitors, And there is much to do as regards shopping, art, interesting sites.
    Of the two Universities you mention, Gajah Mada is state-owned and the most famous. Whereas Muhammadiyah is of muslim signature.