Hamilton Island Travel Answers

change location

Hamilton Island - what is it REALLY like working on the island??

by daisy166 Online Now Jan 11, 2010 at 5:57 PM

Hi there

I am a 30-year old, NZ photographer and I am very interested in working on Hamilton Island for 6 months July - Dec 2010! I imagine Hamilton Island is a really fun, enjoyable, social place to work - is this correct?

My questions include:

Does Hamilton Island arrange the accommodation (if I get a job through them)?
Is it shared accommodation or bunk beds etc?
Is it expensive to live there?
Does it get boring after a week?
What is there to do aside from swim, walk, shop, golf, eat/drink?
What is the main age group of the employees?
Would you recommend working there?
Is it difficult to find full-time employment? (I am a photographer but can also do administration roles)

Any advice would be much appreciated! Please be honest!!

Thank you

Daisy

Quote & Answer
3 Answers
  • Re: Hamilton Island - what is it REALLY like working on the island??

by Anne12 Online Now Jan 12, 2010 at 1:00 AM

Yes, Hamilton Island would be a very social place to work. The main crews would be younger ones...your age and younger.
    There is a culture on Islands, that is lots of partying and drinking!!!!!BUT I am sure at 30 you may not be into this as much:)
    Hamilton Island has a ferry to Airlie Beach, also other Islands, so if you get bored you can pop across. Airlie Beach is on the main land, so you can grab a hire car and have a drive around.

I know it sounds perfect type of employment, but I think I would go bonkers after a month on an Island!!!Having said that, 6 months isn't a long time and you would have a ball, I am sure of that.

A lot of dive cruises and also reef cruises have photographers employed to take people diving etc...
    I know that up here in Cairns they have one of these on each boat. Usually you take photos and help with serving out meals, drinks etc...a bit of everything.