Hamburg Travel Answers

change location

international students residency

by pola91 Online Now Mar 7, 2013 at 2:35 PM

i am planning to apply for college next semester in hamburg university and i looked up the rental student rooms inside the city and found it to be rare and expensive so i was thinking of alternatives in the rural parts around the city

considering i'll have to work and study, my question is how much will it be convenient for me?

also, if the price difference will be worth considering this alternative?

Quote & Answer
5 Answers
  • Turtleshell's Profile Photo

Re: international students residency

by Turtleshell Online Now Mar 7, 2013 at 2:48 PM

About 200 years ago, I studied in Hamburg and back then a room in a student's dorm was the most affordable option. But I guess that's exactly what you mean by saying "rental student rooms"? Did you contact http://www.studierendenwerk-hamburg.de (English site available)?

1 member found this helpful

Was this helpful? Quote & Answer
  • Re: international students residency

by pola91 Online Now Mar 7, 2013 at 3:27 PM

200 years?
    yes i am aware of this website but there is a big chance they won't be able to provide me a room this is why i was looking for alternatives

Be the first to rate this answer!

• christine.j's Profile Photo

by christine.j Online Now Mar 7, 2013 at 10:41 PM

Get on their waiting list as soon as possible. The uni usually provides cheap accommodation and you'll meet lots of other students.

Or check http://www.wohn-hh.de/ and http://www.immobilienscout24.de.

How long are you going to be in Hamburg? If it's just for one term, you may be lucky here
    http://www.zwischenmiete.de/

Good luck, finding a place to stay is one of the most difficult aspects of studying.

1 member found this helpful

• ericaj.'s Profile Photo

by ericaj. Online Now Mar 23, 2013 at 10:18 AM

Another alternative agency you might consider is Easy Flat Share or Germany Accommodation For students.