Gaza Strip Travel Answers

change location
DennisA13's Profile Photo

USA senior citizen would like to enter

by DennisA13 Online Now Aug 13, 2012 at 8:25 PM

From reading I see that I might be able to come in from Egypt when the border is open. I wish to visit to research history from a local view in order to write a book about Gaza history, Is it possible to rent a modest room in a family home? How long could I stay with a typical visa? I am studying Arabic but want to know if I can get by with English as well. Also, is it safe for a single old person, i.e., not likely I'd be kidnapped or killed? Sorry if that is insulting but better to ask than to wonder.

Quote & Answer
13 Answers
  • Re: USA senior citizen would like to enter

by ramot418 Online Now Aug 15, 2012 at 10:32 PM

Gaza is closed to tourists. The Rafah border crossing with Egypt, when open, is for local Gazans only.

Be the first to rate this answer!

Was this helpful? Quote & Answer

by skyasma Online Now Apr 6, 2013 at 1:42 AM

About traveling to Gaza, you can easily get visa and the visa last for a month. However, I guess you could stay longer if you notified the visa office for your need for more time. As for the room renting you can get a room in a family house, but it is to know people there and stay with them. Anyways, the people in Gaza welcomes any foreigners and you will find amazing hospitality from them. You will be amazed with the percentage of people who speaks English so you can get by with English. And no you won't be killed or kidnapped in Gaza, so feel safe.

the problem in entering Gaza is to be able to enter from the Egyptian side. I mean if your government made instruction to prevent any of its citizens to enter Gaza, the Egyptian authorities won't allow you to enter. So it is worth it to coordinate with your embassy before traveling.

by ramot418 Online Now Apr 6, 2013 at 7:58 AM