Frankfurt am Main Travel Answers

change location

Rhine Valley --- driving or cruise

by ieee3 Online Now Apr 18, 2009 at 10:34 AM

Hi,

I am planning to drive from Frankfurt to Brussels.

1. How much time would you suggest I spend in Rhine Valley / Cologne
2. Would it be better to take a cruise in the Rhine Valley or driving would be just as good. If cruise then, is there a way we take our car along on a one way cruise to Bonn.

thanks

Quote & Answer
5 Answers
  • Kakapo2's Profile Photo

Re: Rhine Valley --- driving or cruise

by Kakapo2 Online Now Apr 18, 2009 at 5:30 PM

I am no cruise expert, do do not know if there is a way to take the car up north on a cruise ship.

However, it is also absolutely nice to drive up the Rhine valley by car, as you can criss-cross the Rhine by ferries at several places, so you do not have to drive big detours to picturesque villages or castles on the other side of the river.

In two or three days you can see and do a lot between Frankfurt and Cologne. If you have time on your hand, you might want to cruise the Mosel from Koblenz for some hours.

Be the first to rate this answer!

Was this helpful? Quote & Answer
  • Kathrin_E's Profile Photo

by Kathrin_E Online Now Apr 19, 2009 at 5:22 AM

There is definitely no way to take a car on a Rhine river cruise boat.

A cruise is the best way to experience the Rhine gorge. In the car one of you, the driver, will not have much chance to enjoy the landscape. Since you have to get back to your car I'd recommend doing a short round-trip cruise from, for example, Bacharach or St. Goar. Besides K-D there are also smaller local boat companies that offer such trips.
    If you plan to stay overnight you can also do a longer cruise all the way downstream to Koblenz and return by train.

I'm giving you a link to my favourite Rhine gorge website. This link will take you to an overview page about river boats with links to all the boat companies that operate here: