Dubai Travel Answers

change location
TonyF75's Profile Photo

changing plains at Dubai Airport

by TonyF75 Online Now Mar 24, 2013 at 2:09 AM

Hello fellow travellers, I will be flying with Emirates to Paris from Melbourne, and will be changing planes in Dubai. As this is my first time flying, I was just wondering if anyone can let me know what the process is for this? Will I need to go through customs or security or need to collect my luggage etc. Any answers would be appreciated.

Quote & Answer
34 Answers
  • xymmot's Profile Photo

Re: changing plains at Dubai Airport

by xymmot Online Now Mar 24, 2013 at 2:17 AM

If you are just flying in and transferring planes, your bags will be routed to your final destination and you need not go through immergration, but stay inside the airport . But if it is a long layover and you have a hotel approved by Emirates for a over night stay, you must pick up your luggage and go through immergration .

Cheers tommy x

Be the first to rate this answer!

Was this helpful? Quote & Answer
  • Orchid's Profile Photo

by Orchid Online Now Mar 24, 2013 at 2:21 AM

Hi Tony
    I'm assuming you are not stopping over in Dubai? If not, you will be in transit so won't have to pass through customs or collect your luggage at Dubai (your luggage should be booked through to Paris by Emirates - verify that this is happening when you check in at Melbourne - you shouls also get boarding passes for both flights). You will have to pass through security to board your connecting flight. If you do not have a boarding pass for the Dubai Paris leg, you would need to collect one from a transfer desk at Dubai.

• cachaseiro's Profile Photo

by cachaseiro Online Now Mar 24, 2013 at 2:26 AM