Dhahran Travel Answers

change location
gmy5824's Profile Photo

No Beer

by gmy5824 Online Now Sep 4, 2011 at 12:30 PM

I am a nurse (RN-MSN) looking at a position in Dhahran - I read the con "no beer" is it correct there is no alcohol in the entire country?
bert

Quote & Answer
6 Answers
  • leics's Profile Photo

Re: No Beer

by leics Online Now Sep 4, 2011 at 12:59 PM

Saudi Arabia does not allow the production, import or consumption of alcohol. There are (potentially severe) penalties for doing any of those things.

You may find the US government advice

travel.state.gov/travel/cis_...

and the UK FCO information:

ukinsaudiarabia.fco.gov.uk/e...

useful.

Be the first to rate this answer!

Was this helpful? Quote & Answer
  • GrumpyDiver's Profile Photo

by GrumpyDiver Online Now Sep 4, 2011 at 1:06 PM

Saudi Arabia = very fundamentalist Muslim country. No alcohol allowed anywhere.

• Fluffy_bunny's Profile Photo

by Fluffy_bunny Online Now Sep 4, 2011 at 2:37 PM

There's always a way. Just like you can find cocaine in the US, you can find alcohol in Saudi. That said, the penalties aren't really worth it. Follow the Saudis across the bridge to Bahrain and party till you drop (where it's legal).

• mccalpin's Profile Photo

by mccalpin Online Now Sep 4, 2011 at 7:25 PM

I say this not from personal experience but because it's something that we home winemakers talk about... you know that we have "non-alcoholic" beer in the West...however, such beer normally has about 0.25% alcohol (in the US, the requirement is that it have less than 0.5%). As such, even though it would be all but impossible to abuse such a drink, I had heard that even such "non-alcoholic" beer is not allowed in Saudi.

The only non-alcoholic beer allowed in Saudi, so I am told, is a malt drink that absolutely, positively contains 0.00% alcohol, and which, I suspect, doesn't taste much like beer at all...anybody ever heard of this?

Bill

• glabah's Profile Photo