Dayton Travel Answers

change location

Relocating to Dayton

by rlacross Online Now Sep 14, 2008 at 6:53 PM

I am relocating in 2 years and am very nervous about moving to dayton. How does it compare in the outdoor recreation dept? Are there any nice historical neighborhoods with good schools? Medical Centers? How long of a drive to Lake Eerie?

Quote & Answer
3 Answers
  • ReetSLP's Profile Photo

Re: Relocating to Dayton

by ReetSLP Online Now Sep 17, 2008 at 9:15 AM

I'm not an expert on Dayton, but I've lived near there most of my life. There are plenty of outdoor activities-from great parks to festivals down by the rivers (go to www.metroparks.org to check out the parks and trails). The Dayton Air Force Museum is supposed to be wonderful (I haven't made it there yet) and the Dayton Art Institte is not only a great collection of art, but is housed in an absolutely beautiful building (have been there, and I love it!) Dayton does have historical districts, but I can't tell you anything about them. I can't really give you any information about schools other than the University of Dayton and Wright State University are both part of the city. As far as medical centers, there is the Dayton Children's Medical Center and Miami Valley Hospital. Dayton is only about an hour (or less) north of Cincinnati, about 1 1/2-2 hours west of Columbus and about 3 hours from Lake Erie. This probably wasn't too helpful, but I hope it gives you some idea of what you can expect.

Be the first to rate this answer!

Was this helpful? Quote & Answer
  • Re: Relocating to Dayton

by liz_coe Online Now Oct 4, 2009 at 8:25 PM