Costa Rica Travel Answers

change location
HansWerner's Profile Photo

Calm Beaches in Costa Rica ?

by HansWerner Online Now Oct 3, 2013 at 1:39 PM

At the moment I'm studying travel brochures about Costa Rica.
I plan to go there in January. First, after the flight, three or four nights in San Jose.
Then 2 weeks across Costa Rica to see some vulcanoes and national parks.
After that 1 week at the beach. The beach hotels are all on the pacific coast of Costa Rica.
But there are a lot of beaches with high waves for surfing.
Where can you go for swimming ? Are there calm waters ? Any warnings about some beaches because of pollution ?
Are there also sandy beaches or only vulcanoe beaches with some rocks ? I want to book the next days.

Quote & Answer
10 Answers
  • chunchie2's Profile Photo

Re: Calm Beaches in Costa Rica ?

by chunchie2 Online Now Oct 3, 2013 at 3:09 PM

Hi,
    We have a place in Playas del Coco and I taught my kids to swim in that area. Playa Hermosa, GTE has a little surf , but nothing dangerous . We also like Punta Uva just south of Puerto Viejo on the Carri bean side. It has a yellow spongy sand, gentle surf and great snorkeling.

Be the first to rate this answer!

Was this helpful? Quote & Answer
  • blueskyjohn's Profile Photo

by blueskyjohn Online Now Oct 3, 2013 at 3:14 PM

Costa Rica beaches on the Pacific side are beautiful and many have white sandy beaches. One of my favorite is a little town called Samara, "Samara" - Sámara by blueskyjohn
    It is great for swimming and many other activities.

Manuel Antonio national park is also very good with amazing beaches and swimming. But here can be very touristy.

• TexasDave's Profile Photo

by TexasDave Online Now Oct 3, 2013 at 3:18 PM

Some of the Guanacaste beaches are a little strong as far as surf goes. But there are so many it isn't hard to find an area with calm surf. Manuel Antonio National Park has 3 beaches each with different strengths.

• Homanded's Profile Photo