Carcassonne Travel Answers

change location
johnstratton's Profile Photo

Using The Canal du Midi

by johnstratton Online Now Feb 18, 2013 at 2:19 AM

Planning to stay in Carcassonne but wish to visit Toulouse for a couple of days. Anyone know if one can get a canal boat from Carcassonne to Toulouse & back like a taxi service rather than train or drive the journey? Thanks. JS

Quote & Answer
13 Answers
  • Jerelis's Profile Photo

Re: Using The Canal du Midi

by Jerelis Online Now Feb 18, 2013 at 3:39 AM

Nice question to be honest! :)

When I was in Carcassonne (summer of 2011) I saw a folder the company FFP Travels. It stated: "Hire of boats on Canal du Midi, starting from Toulouse. Boats for cruise for 2 to 8 persons ... Choose the boat you need in a wide confort range."

I have no personal experience with this company, but knew about it by the folder I saw. Their comapny website is: http://www.france-passion-plaisance.fr/

I hope it is of help!

Enjoy your travels,

Jeroen

Be the first to rate this answer!

Was this helpful? Quote & Answer
  • zuriga's Profile Photo

by zuriga Online Now Feb 18, 2013 at 4:56 AM

I wish I could answer your question, but I think some of this would depend on how much time you want to spend going to Toulouse. We had a car during our trip to the Languedoc last summer, but we made several stops at towns along the Canal. It seemed to me the boats travel very slowly and would take quite awhile to make the trip, unless there is one that does more of a taxi service.

We ventured into Toulouse before flying back to the UK and were very glad we did. It's a very lively town and has quite a few interesting museums. Personally, I'd just drive the few hours and give yourself more time in both the Carcassonne and Toulouse areas. If you have any questions about that part of France, feel free to ask.

• gwened's Profile Photo

by gwened Online Now Feb 18, 2013 at 7:17 AM