Caracas Travel Answers

change location

Journalist travelling to Caracas in March

by tasigora Online Now Jan 29, 2013 at 12:04 PM

Hello, I am a journalist for a major media outlet in the US. I have been to Brazil and Mexico in Latin America, and I want to head down to Caracas in March 2013.

I know things are a bit rough there politically right now, but I wonder how safe is it to visit as a foreign journalist? I am a radio journalist, and have a small flash recorder with a microphone. Obviously I will stand out, but I'm wondering how likely am I to get robbed that way? What is a safe way to get a few interviews down there? Is it even possible?

I am reporting on the environment and if possible I'd like to talk about the politics there as well. Am I going to find this impossible? I speak fairly good spanish, but I unfortunately am a blond haired california looking American. I'm considering growing a beard and wearing my hair out. Would it even help to say I am Canadian?

Anyway, I want to see if anybody has any ideas or thoughts on this subject. Thank you!

Quote & Answer
7 Answers
  • cgf's Profile Photo

Re: Journalist travelling to Caracas in March

by cgf Online Now Jan 29, 2013 at 12:08 PM

I don't think you'll have any problems from people there.
    IMO you should prepare yourself to answers to more questions than you'd believe you'll do to others.

Be the first to rate this answer!

Was this helpful? Quote & Answer
  • planxty's Profile Photo

by planxty Online Now Jan 30, 2013 at 4:44 AM

I don't know anything about the situation there but as a general principle I would suggest contacting the Venezuelan National Union of Journalists (or whatever their official name might be) and asking them. Presumably you are properly accredited and they may be able to assist as a professional courtesy. The professional body in your own country may also be able to assist with current information.

Hope this assists,

fergy.

• cheesecake17's Profile Photo