Bora-Bora Travel Answers

change location
waverida1's Profile Photo

Getting Around Bora Bora

by waverida1 Online Now Jan 29, 2008 at 11:10 AM

The main island is about 3 miles wide by about 5 miles long (not counting the wavy roads). My wife and I will be staying at the northern tip of the main island so we won't have the luxury of hotel transportation. Is it possible to walk the island? The island is small but I don't know if the curves of the main road double the distance from our place to the touristy spots. I know a car can be rented for 2 hours for around100 but after that 2 hour period, we'd still need a way to get from the rental location to our home.

Any chance there is a place to rent kayaks (especially tandem)? I've been kayaking for 10 years and could easily paddle around the island with a passenger. Any transportation advice would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Quote & Answer
17 Answers
  • Sergeyu's Profile Photo

Re: Getting Around Bora Bora

by Sergeyu Online Now Jan 29, 2008 at 11:23 AM

I din't stay on the main island but on motu - I ermeber ether were offers but for kayaks but for hobbie cat - I think such mod eof trasnportation? sighseeinhg is even more enjobale. I was there in Seeptmebr, it was rather dry season, but on the oppoiste side ( what you don't see on pics) it was very very windy and sea was with numrious underwater currents - I tried hard, but I can't get around even of my small Sofitel Motu, on top wind direction all time was changing. I understand the wind is problem during summer , but rain is one during the winter. But if weather permits you will find or sure single and tandem kayaks for hire, Matira point beach should be the place where to find it .