Alaska Travel Answers

change location

Alaska summer 2012

by Lizbeth2015 Online Now Nov 10, 2011 at 2:17 PM

I'm basically posting this so I can see what kinda reactions and feedback I get. Not really a question but I guess looking for travel advice since Ive never taken this kind of trip before!

I live in Alabama and my best friend and I are planning on flying to Anchorage in June since we have both always wanted to see Alaska. She lives in Ohio and we are gonna meet up and fly up together. My friend and I are going to meet up in Anchorage with some other friends of ours from California and then we are driving to Wasilla. By the way I just graduated high school and I'm a freshman at a community college in my town. I work minimum wage at McDonald's and I have a surplus of financial aid money that I'm planning on using for this little adventure. I have a budget laid out for paycheck to paycheck what I'm gonna put away for this trip. Basically I'm planning on trying to be VERY frugal from here until June. Going on this trip is a once in a lifetime experience to have and since the opportunity is here in front of me I should take it, even though I will be completely poor afterwards. :)

Plane tickets... When's the best time to buy? Last time I looked they were623 round trip from Nashville to Anchorage. I can buy them as early as mid January. When are they cheapest?

Also I have never been on a plane for longer than two hours, so this 12 hour venture is gonna be quite interesting. Two things you should know: I have high anxiety about planes and I'm afraid of heights so flying isn't the most enjoyable thing for me. Suggestions?

This is going to be the experience of a lifetime. Thanks for the advice y'all :)

Elizabeth

Quote & Answer
20 Answers
  • goodfish's Profile Photo

Re: Alaska summer 2012

by goodfish Online Now Nov 10, 2011 at 2:46 PM